This site uses cookies to provide a better experience. Continuing navigation accept the use of cookies by us OK

The Interparliamentary Union


The Interparliamentary Union

The Inter Parliamentary Union was created in 1889 upon the initiative of the Parliamentarians William Randal Cremer (United Kingdom) and Frédéric Passy (France). The first Conference was attended by 9 Parliaments including the Italian Parliament.

The IPU mandate is to foster inter-parliamentary dialogue and consolidate representative democracy, in close collaboration with the United Nations.

In November 2020 the Presidency was assumed by Duarte Pacheco (Portugal).

Over the years, two Italians were elected Presidents: Giuseppe Codacci Pisanelli (1957-1962) and Pierferdinando Casini (2005-2008).