This site uses technical and analytics cookies.
By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies.


After the dissolution of the League of Nations, established in 1920, with headquarters in Geneva, and the creation of the United Nations (UN) in New York in October 1945, Geneva continued to host the European Office in the Palais des Nations, called UNOG in 1966. The General Director is appointed by the UN Secretary General for a five-year term (renewable once).